BREAD AND WINE


Image

A painting of Abraham preparing, to sacrifice his son Isaac; on Mount Moriah, the site of Jerusalem; but there was a ram caught in the thicket – the LORD will provide Himself a sacrifice. Click on the picture to enlarge.

THERE IS NO MEAL, ANYWHERE IN THE WORLD, OF GREATER IMPORTANCE – NOT IN PALACES, HOTELS OR RESTAURANTS.

WE COMMEMORATE THE GREATEST EVENT IN EARTH’S HISTORY.

ALL THE THREE PERSONS OF THE GODHEAD: FATHER, SON, AND HOLY SPIRIT SUFFERED, IN THEIR OWN WAY, AT THE CROSS.

WE ARE BOUGHT WITH HIS BLOOD, AND THEREFORE HIS PROPERTY, AND NOT OUR OWN.

*IT IS GOOD TO SAY AS WE TAKE THE ELEMENTS: I TAKE THIS BREAD/WINE TO REPRESENT THE BODY/BLOOD OF CHRIST GIVEN FOR ME ON THE CROSS

THE LORD’S SUPPER (1 Corinthians 11:20)

It is difficult to imagine a worse human death: nailed to a wooden frame until dead, totally naked in public.  The pains would be excruciating and inescapable – for which He refused a painkiller, the bowels and bladder would probably empty, there would be hunger and thirst, excessive bleeding, and bones disjointed.  There would be exposure to the elements, and hostile abuse, all this following cruel torture by the guards.  For Divinity, there was association with the World’s sin, and separation from the rest of the Godhead.  There were three days in the realm of the dead – separation of body and soul.  All this was for you and me. 

To demonstrate, unmistakably, His great Divine Love for us.  This was after 4,000 years of sacrifices for sin (from the clothing/covering of Adam and Eve in the Garden of Eden, to the first century AD), to prepare Jewish Culture for the Cross, showing the sinfulness and seriousness of sin, and the great need to each one of us, of forgiveness by Divinity.

By way of preparation it is right to confess any known sins, and good to recite some of the following Scriptures.

GENERAL STATEMENTS AND SCRIPTURES

Genesis 3:15 And I will put enmity between you and the woman, between your offspring and hers; he will crush your head, and you will strike his heel.   This is a sight of the victory of Calvary.

Genesis 3:21 The LORD God made garments of skin for Adam and his wife and clothed them.   An animal had been slain, and blood shed.

Genesis 22:8, 14, 18

Leviticus 16:10, 22, 30, 34 But the goat chosen by lot as the scapegoat shall be presented alive before the LORD to be used for making atonement by sending it into the desert as a scapegoat.

Numbers 21:8-9 The LORD said to Moses, “Make a snake and put it up on a pole; anyone who is bitten can look at it and live.”
9 So Moses made a bronze snake and put it up on a pole. Then when anyone was bitten by a snake and looked at the bronze snake, he lived.
[This is applied to Calvary: John 3:14-15 Just as Moses lifted up the snake in the desert, so the Son of Man must be lifted up, 15 that everyone who believes in him may have eternal life.]

Job 3:24-25 For sighing comes to me instead of food;
my groans pour out like water.
25 What I feared has come upon me;
what I dreaded has happened to me.

Job 16:19-21 Even now my witness is in heaven;
my advocate is on high.
20 My intercessor is my friend
as my eyes pour out tears to God;
21 on behalf of a man he pleads with God
as a man pleads for his friend.

Job 19:25-27 I know that my Redeemer lives,
and that in the end he will stand upon the earth.
26 And after my skin has been destroyed,
yet in my flesh I will see God;
27 I myself will see him
with my own eyes—I, and not another.
How my heart yearns within me!

Psalm 8:5 You made him a little lower than the heavenly beings
and crowned him with glory and honor.

Psalm22

For the director of music:  To the tune of “The Doe of the Morning.” A psalm of David

1 My God, my God, why have you forsaken me?

Why are you so far from saving me,

so far from the words of my groaning?

2 O my God, I cry out by day, but you do not answer,

by night, and am not silent.

6 But I am a worm and not a man,

scorned by men and despised by the people.

7 All who see me mock me;

they hurl insults, shaking their heads:

8 “He trusts in the LORD?

let the LORD rescue him.

Let him deliver him,

since he delights in him.”

12 Many bulls surround me;

strong bulls of Bashan encircle me.

13 Roaring lions tearing their prey

open their mouths wide against me.

14 I am poured out like water,

and all my bones are out of joint.

My heart has turned to wax;

it has melted away within me.

15 My strength is dried up like a potsherd,

and my tongue sticks to the roof of my mouth;

you lay me in the dust of death.

16 Dogs have surrounded me;

a band of evil men has encircled me,

they have pierced my hands and my feet.

17 I can count all my bones;

people stare and gloat over me.

18 They divide my garments among them

and cast lots for my clothing.

24 For he has not despised or disdained

the suffering of the afflicted one;

he has not hidden his face from him

but has listened to his cry for help.

[In taking our sins upon Himself at the Cross, Jesus was separated from the Father: that we might never be!]

Psalm 40:6-7 (margin) Sacrifice and offering you did not desire,
but my ears you have pierced (but a body you have prepared for me);
burnt offerings and sin offerings
you did not require.

Then I said, “Here I am, I have come—

it is written about me in the scroll.

Psalm 40:8 I desire to do your will, O my God;

your law is within my heart.”

Psalm 69:21 They put gall in my food
and gave me vinegar for my thirst.

Psalm 94:17 Unless the LORD had given me help,

I would soon have dwelt in the silence of death.

[There is the suggestion that the destination of the lost is a place of total silence.]

Psalm 103:8-14 The LORD is compassionate and gracious,
slow to anger, abounding in love.
9 He will not always accuse,
nor will he harbor his anger forever;
10 he does not treat us as our sins deserve
or repay us according to our iniquities.
11 For as high as the heavens are above the earth,
so great is his love for those who fear him;
12 as far as the east is from the west,
so far has he removed our transgressions from us.
13 As a father has compassion on his children,
so the LORD has compassion on those who fear him;
14 for he knows how we are formed,
he remembers that we are dust.

Psalm 111:9 He provided redemption for his people;
he ordained his covenant forever—
holy and awesome is his name.

Psalm 118:22-24 The stone the builders rejected
has become the capstone;
23 the LORD has done this,
and it is marvelous in our eyes.
24 This is the day the LORD has made;
let us rejoice and be glad in it.

Isaiah 52:13-15 See, my servant will act wisely;

he will be raised and lifted up and highly exalted.

14 Just as there were many who were appalled at him—

his appearance was so disfigured beyond that of any man

and his form marred beyond human likeness—

15 so will he sprinkle many nations,

and kings will shut their mouths because of him.

For what they were not told, they will see,

and what they have not heard, they will understand.

Isaiah 53:2-12 He grew up before him like a tender shoot,

and like a root out of dry ground.

He had no beauty or majesty to attract us to him,

nothing in his appearance that we should desire him.

3 He was despised and rejected by men,

a man of sorrows, and familiar with suffering.

Like one from whom men hide their faces

he was despised, and we esteemed him not.

4 Surely he took up our infirmities

and carried our sorrows,

yet we considered him stricken by God,

smitten by him, and afflicted.

5 But he was pierced for our transgressions,

he was crushed for our iniquities;

the punishment that brought us peace was upon him,

and by his wounds we are healed.

6 We all, like sheep, have gone astray,

each of us has turned to his own way;

and the LORD has laid on him

the iniquity of us all.

7 He was oppressed and afflicted,

yet he did not open his mouth;

he was led like a lamb to the slaughter,

and as a sheep before her shearers is silent,

so he did not open his mouth.

8 By oppression and judgment he was taken away.

And who can speak of his descendants?

For he was cut off from the land of the living;

for the transgression of my people he was stricken.

9 He was assigned a grave with the wicked,

and with the rich in his death,

though he had done no violence,

nor was any deceit in his mouth.

10 Yet it was the LORD’S will to crush him and cause him to suffer,

and though the LORD makes his life a guilt offering,

he will see his offspring and prolong his days,

and the will of the LORD will prosper in his hand.

11 After the suffering of his soul,

he will see the light└ of life┘  and be satisfied;

by his knowledge my righteous servant will justify many,

and he will bear their iniquities.

12 Therefore I will give him a portion among the great,

and he will divide the spoils with the strong,

because he poured out his life unto death,

and was numbered with the transgressors.

For he bore the sin of many,

and made intercession for the transgressors.

Jeremiah 31:31 “The time is coming,” declares the LORD,

“when I will make a new covenant

with the house of Israel and with the house of Judah.

  34 c  “For I will forgive their wickedness

and will remember their sins no more.”

Isaiah 59:20 “The Redeemer will come to Zion,
to those in Jacob who repent of their sins,”
declares the LORD.

Matthew 4:1 Then Jesus was led by the Spirit into the desert to be tempted by the devil.

2 After fasting forty days and forty nights, he was hungry.

Mark 14:34 “My soul is overwhelmed with sorrow to the point of death,” he said to them. “Stay here and keep watch.”   35 Going a little farther, he fell to the ground and prayed that if possible the hour might pass from him.

36 “Abba, Father,” he said, “everything is possible for you. Take this cup from me. Yet not what I will, but what you will.”

Mark 14:46 The men seized Jesus and arrested him.  Enemies, Persecuted 

Luke 9:23 Then he said to them all: “If anyone would come after me, he must deny himself and take up his cross daily and follow me.”

This is the huge challenge of the Communion Service: to sanctify ourselves to serve our Saviour unto death.

John 1:14 The Word became flesh and made his dwelling among us. We have seen his glory, the glory of the One and Only, who came from the Father, full of grace and truth.

John 1:29 The next day John saw Jesus coming toward him and said, “Look, the Lamb of God, who takes away the sin of the world!

John 10:11 “I am the good shepherd. The good shepherd lays down his life for the sheep. 15 just as the Father knows me and I know the Father—and I lay down my life for the sheep. 17 The reason my Father loves me is that I lay down my life—only to take it up again. 18 No one takes it from me, but I lay it down of my own accord. I have authority to lay it down and authority to take it up again. This command I received from my Father.”

John 15:13 Greater love has no one than this, that he lay down his life for his friends.

Acts 2:38 Peter replied, “Repent and be baptized, every one of you, in the name of Jesus Christ for the forgiveness of your sins. And you will receive the gift of the Holy Spirit.

Acts 3:15 You killed the author of life, but God raised him from the dead. We are witnesses of this.

Acts 3:19 Repent, then, and turn to God, so that your sins may be wiped out, that times of refreshing may come from the Lord, 20 and that he may send the Christ, who has been appointed for you—even Jesus. 21 He must remain in heaven until the time comes for God to restore everything, as he promised long ago through his holy prophets.

Acts 4:11 “He is, ‘the stone you builders rejected,

which has become the capstone.’

12 Salvation is found in no one else, for there is no other name under heaven given to men by which we must be saved.”

Acts 10:43 All the prophets testify about him that everyone who believes in him receives forgiveness of sins through his name.”

Acts 13:38 “Therefore, my brothers, I want you to know that through Jesus the forgiveness of sins is proclaimed to you. 39 Through him everyone who believes is justified from everything you could not be justified from by the Law of Moses.

Acts 16:31 They replied, “Believe in the Lord Jesus, and you will be saved—you and your household.”

Romans 8:1 Therefore, there is now no condemnation for those who are in Christ Jesus, 2 because through Christ Jesus the law of the Spirit of life set me free from the law of sin and death. 3 For what the law was powerless to do in that it was weakened by the sinful nature, God did by sending his own Son in the likeness of sinful man to be a sin offering.

4 in order that the righteous requirements of the law might be fully met in us, who do not live according to the sinful nature but according to the Spirit.

Romans 8:17 Now if we are children, then we are heirs—heirs of God and co-heirs with Christ, if indeed we share in his sufferings in order that we may also share in his glory.

Romans 8:32 He who did not spare his own Son, but gave him up for us all—how will he not also, along with him, graciously give us all things? 33 Who will bring any charge against those whom God has chosen? It is God who justifies. 34 Who is he that condemns? Christ Jesus, who died—more than that, who was raised to life—is at the right hand of God and is also interceding for us.

1 Corinthians 5:7 Get rid of the old yeast that you may be a new batch without yeast—as you really are. For Christ, our Passover lamb has been sacrificed.

1 Corinthians 11:19-20 No doubt there have to be differences among you to show which of you have God’s approval.    When you come together, it is not the Lord’s Supper you eat,

1 Corinthians 11:23 For I received from the Lord what I also passed on to you: The Lord Jesus, on the night he was betrayed, took bread, 24 and when he had given thanks, he broke it and said, “This is my body, which is for you; do this in remembrance of me.”

25 In the same way, after supper he took the cup, saying, “This cup is the new covenant in my blood; do this, whenever you drink it, in remembrance of me.”

26 For whenever you eat this bread and drink this cup, you proclaim the Lord’s death until he comes. [Who do we witness it to – God, angels good and evil, the Church, the World, myself ….?]

27 Therefore, whoever eats the bread or drinks the cup of the Lord in an unworthy manner, will be guilty of sinning against the body and blood of the Lord.

28 A man ought to examine himself before he eats of the bread and drinks of the cup.   29 For anyone who eats and drinks without recognizing the body of the Lord eats and drinks judgment on himself.   30 That is why many among you are weak and sick, and a number of you have fallen asleep.   31 But if we judged ourselves, we would not come under judgment.   32 When we are judged by the Lord, we are being disciplined so that we will not be condemned with the world.

33 So then, my brothers, when you come together to eat, wait for each other.  34 If anyone is hungry, he should eat at home, so that when you meet together it may not result in judgment.   And when I come I will give further directions.

2 Corinthians 4:10 We always carry around in our body the death of Jesus, so that the life of Jesus may also be revealed in our body. 11 For we who are alive are always being given over to death for Jesus’ sake, so that his life may be revealed in our mortal body.

2 Corinthians 8:9 For you know the grace of our Lord Jesus Christ, that though he was rich, yet for your sakes he became poor, so that you through his poverty might become rich.  [How rich in Glory: how poor on the Cross.  How great our poverty – as Hell-bound sinners: how wonderful our riches, as Heaven-bound children of God. He gave up His Glory, was stripped of His robe: that we might be clothed with His Righteousness.  He suffered that we might find relief; was forsaken: that we might be adopted.]

Galatians 2:20 I have been crucified with Christ and I no longer live, but Christ lives in me. The life I live in the body, I live by faith in the Son of God,

who loved me and gave himself for me.

Galatians 3:13 Christ redeemed us from the curse of the law by becoming a curse for us, for it is written: “Cursed is everyone who is hung on a tree.”

Galatians 4:4 But when the time had fully come, God sent his Son, born of a woman, born under law.

Philippians 1:29 For it has been granted to you on behalf of Christ not only to believe on him, but also to suffer for him.

Hebrews 8:12 For I will forgive their wickedness and will remember their sins no more.” (Cf Jeremiah 31:34 c)

Hebrews 8:13 By calling this covenant “new,” he has made the first one obsolete; and what is obsolete and aging will soon disappear.

Entered:

Hebrews 6:20 where Jesus, who went before us, has entered on our behalf. He has become a high priest forever, in the order of Melchizedek. [quoted from Psalm 110:4]

9:24 For Christ did not enter a man-made sanctuary that was only a copy of the true one; he entered heaven itself, now to appear for us in God’s presence.

Revelation 5:6 Then I saw a Lamb, looking as if it had been slain, standing in the center of the throne.

9 …because you were slain, and with your blood you purchased men for God

from every tribe and language and people and nation.

Revelation 13:8b   Names … written in the book of life belonging to the Lamb that was slain from the creation of the world.

THE CROSS

Apostolic shorthand for the Good News Message, the Suffering, the blessings and the benefits of the Saviour’s Atonement

1 Corinthians 1:17 For Christ did not send me to baptize, but to preach the gospel—not with words of human wisdom, lest the cross of Christ be emptied of its power.

1 Corinthians 1:18 For the message of the cross is foolishness to those who are perishing, but to us who are being saved it is the power of God.

Galatians 5:11 Brothers, if I am still preaching circumcision, why am I still being persecuted? In that case the offense of the cross has been abolished.

Galatians 6:12 Those who want to make a good impression outwardly are trying to compel you to be circumcised. The only reason they do this is to avoid being persecuted for the cross of Christ.

Galatians 6:14 May I never boast except in the cross of our Lord Jesus Christ, through which the world has been crucified to me, and I to the world.

Ephesians 2:16 And in this one body to reconcile both of them to God through the cross, by which he put to death their hostility.

Philippians 2:8 And being found in appearance as a man,

he humbled himself

and became obedient to death—

even death on a cross!

Philippians 3:18 For, as I have often told you before and now say again even with tears, many live as enemies of the cross of Christ.

Colossians 1:20 and through him to reconcile to himself all things, whether things on earth or things in heaven, by making peace through his blood, shed on the cross.

Colossians 2:14 having canceled the written code, with its regulations, that was against us and that stood opposed to us; he took it away, nailing it to the cross.

Colossians 2:15 And having disarmed the powers and authorities, he made a public spectacle of them, triumphing over them by the cross.

Hebrews 12:2 Let us fix our eyes on Jesus, the author and perfecter of our faith, who for the joy set before him endured the cross, scorning its shame, and sat down at the right hand of the throne of God. [This may give us a pattern: to endure our suffering, for the joy that is set before us.]

THE BREAD

Zechariah 12:10 b They will look on me, the one they have pierced.   John 19:37 and, as another scripture says, “They will look on the one they have pierced.”

Revelation 1:7 Look, he is coming with the clouds, and every eye will see him, even those who pierced him; and all the peoples of the earth will mourn because of him.

Matthew 26:45 b  “Look, the hour is near, and the Son of Man is betrayed into the hands of sinners. 46 Rise, let us go! Here comes my betrayer!”

47 While he was still speaking, Judas, one of the Twelve, arrived. With him

was a large crowd armed with swords and clubs, sent from the chief priests

and the elders of the people.   48 Now the betrayer had arranged a signal with

them: “The one I kiss is the man; arrest him.”   49 Going at once to Jesus,

Judas said, “Greetings, Rabbi!” and kissed him.

Matthew 26:56 But this has all taken place that the writings of the prophets might be fulfilled.” Then all the disciples deserted him and fled.”

Matthew 26:59 The chief priests and the whole Sanhedrin were looking for false evidence against Jesus so that they could put him to death.

Matthew 26:65 Then the high priest tore his clothes and said, “He has spoken blasphemy! Why do we need any more witnesses? Look, now you have heard the blasphemy.

66 What do you think?”

“He is worthy of death,” they answered.

67 Then they spit in his face and struck him with their fists. Others slapped him

68 and said, “Prophesy to us, Christ. Who hit you?”

Matthew 26:75 Then Peter remembered the word Jesus had spoken: “Before the rooster crows, you will disown me three times.”

Matthew 27:3-4  When Judas, who had betrayed him, saw that Jesus was condemned, he was seized with remorse.   “I have sinned,” he said, “for I have betrayed innocent blood.”

Matthew 27:9 Then what was spoken by Jeremiah the prophet was fulfilled: “They took the thirty silver coins, the price set on him by the people of Israel …”

Matthew 27:19 While Pilate was sitting on the judge’s seat, his wife sent him this message: “Don’t have anything to do with that innocent man, for I have suffered a great deal today in a dream because of him.”

Matthew 27:26 Then Pilate released Barabbas to them. But he had Jesus flogged, and handed him over to be crucified.

27 Then the governor’s soldiers took Jesus into the Praetorium and gathered the whole company of soldiers around him.

28 They stripped him and put a scarlet robe on him,

29 and then twisted together a crown of thorns and set it on his head. They put

a staff in his right hand and knelt in front of him and mocked him. “Hail, king of

the Jews!” they said. 30 They spit on him, and took the staff and struck him on

the head again and again31 After they had mocked him, they took off the

robe and put his own clothes on him. Then they led him away to crucify him.

Matthew 27:34 There they offered Jesus wine to drink, mixed with gall; but after tasting it, he refused to drink it.

Matthew 27:39 Those who passed by hurled insults at him, shaking their heads

40 and saying, “You who are going to destroy the temple and build it in three days, save yourself! Come down from the cross, if you are the Son of God!”

41 In the same way the chief priests, the teachers of the law and the elders mocked him.   42 “He saved others,” they said, “but he can’t save himself! He’s the King of Israel! Let him come down now from the cross, and we will believe in him.   43 He trusts in God. Let God rescue him now if he wants him, for he said, ‘I am the Son of God.’ ”

44 In the same way the robbers who were crucified with him also heaped insults on him.

Matthew 27:45 From the sixth hour until the ninth hour darkness came over all the

land. 46 About the ninth hour Jesus cried out in a loud voice, “Eloi, Eloi, lama

sabachthani?”—which means, “My God, my God, why have you forsaken

me?”

Psalm 22:1 My God, my God, why have you forsaken me?

Why are you so far from saving me,

so far from the words of my groaning?

Matthew 27:50 And when Jesus had cried out again in a loud voice, he gave up his spirit.

51 At that moment, the curtain of the temple was torn in two from top to bottom. The earth shook and the rocks split.

52 The tombs broke open and the bodies of many holy people who had died were raised to life.

27:59 Joseph took the body, wrapped it in a clean linen cloth,   60 and placed it in his own new tomb that he had cut out of the rock. He rolled a big stone in front of the entrance to the tomb and went away.

John 6:51 I am the living bread that came down from heaven. If anyone eats of this bread, he will live forever. This bread is my flesh, which I will give for the life of the world.

52 Then the Jews began to argue sharply among themselves, “How can this man give us his flesh to eat?”

53 Jesus said to them, “I tell you the truth, unless you eat the flesh of the Son of Man and drink his blood, you have no life in you.

54 Whoever eats my flesh and drinks my blood has eternal life, and I will raise him up at the last day.

55 For my flesh is real food and my blood is real drink.

56 Whoever eats my flesh and drinks my blood remains in me, and I in him.

[This is strange to us, as well as to the original Twelve Apostles.  But, have in mind the various sacrifices outlined to Moses: one is called the Fellowship Offering.  In this case the flesh was eaten in the presence of Yahweh.  This may well be the significance of our Lord’s words.  We eat the symbol of our Lord’s Sacrifice in the Presence of our High Priest]

John 19:34 Instead, one of the soldiers pierced Jesus’ side with a spear, bringing a sudden flow of blood and water.

John 19:38 Later, Joseph of Arimathea asked Pilate for the body of Jesus. Now Joseph was a disciple of Jesus, but secretly because he feared the Jews. With Pilate’s permission, he came and took the body away.

John 19:40 Taking Jesus’ body, the two of them wrapped it, with the spices, in strips of linen. This was in accordance with Jewish burial customs.

Psalm 16:9 and much quoted Therefore my heart is glad and my tongue rejoices;

my body also will rest secure,

Matthew 28:5 The angel said to the women, “Do not be afraid, for I know that you are looking for Jesus, who was crucified. 6 He is not here; he has risen, just as he said. Come and see the place where he lay.

Mark 14:22 While they were eating, Jesus took bread, gave thanks and broke it, and gave it to his disciples, saying, “Take it; this is my body.”

[Notice the Servanthood of the Lord Jesus: He broke the bread, He gave it to them.]

Luke 2:7 and she gave birth to her firstborn, a son. She wrapped him in cloths and placed him in a manger, because there was no room for them in the inn.

Luke 2:11 today in the town of David a Savior has been born to you; he is Christ the Lord.

Luke 2:21 On the eighth day, when it was time to circumcise him, he was named Jesus, the name the angel had given him before he had been conceived.

Romans 7:4 So, my brothers, you also died to the law through the body of Christ, that you might belong to another, to him who was raised from the dead, in order that we might bear fruit to God.

1Corinthians 10:16-17 … is not the bread that we break a participation in the body of Christ?  Because there is one loaf, we, who are many, are one body, for we all partake of the one loaf.

1Corinthians 12:27 Now you are the body of Christ, and each one of you is a part of it.

2Corinthians 4:10 We always carry around in our body the death of Jesus, so that the life of Jesus may also be revealed in our body.

Ephesians 2:15 … by abolishing in his flesh the law with its commandments and regulations. His purpose was to create in himself one new man out of the two, thus making peace, 16 and in this one body to reconcile both of them to God through the cross, by which he put to death their hostility.

Colossians 1:22 But now he has reconciled you by Christ’s physical body through death to present you holy in his sight, without blemish and free from accusation—

Colossians 1:24 Now I rejoice in what was suffered for you, and I fill up in my flesh what is still lacking in regard to Christ’s afflictions, for the sake of his body, which is the church.

1 Timothy 3:16 Beyond all question, the mystery of godliness is great:

He appeared in a body,

Hebrews 2:14 Since the children have flesh and blood, he too shared in their humanity so that by his death he might destroy him who holds the power of death—that is, the devil—

Heb 10:5 Therefore, when Christ came into the world, he said:

“Sacrifice and offering you did not desire,

but a body you prepared for me.”  Psalm 40:6-8 LXX

Hebrews 10:10 And by that will, we have been made holy through the sacrifice of the body of Jesus Christ once for all.

Hebrews 10:20 by a new and living way opened for us through the curtain, that is, his body,

[ See above, the reference to the curtain being torn from above by the Father: one man had been allowed to enter the inner sanctuary, once a year, under the old covenant.]

1Peter 2:24 He himself bore our sins in his body on the tree, so that we might die to sins and live for righteousness; by his wounds you have been healed.

1Pe 3:18 For Christ died for sins once for all, the righteous for the unrighteous, to bring you to God. He was put to death in the body but made alive by the Spirit,

1 Peter 4:1 Therefore, since Christ suffered in his body, arm yourselves also with the same attitude, because he who has suffered in his body is done with sin.

2 John 7 Jesus Christ … coming in the flesh,

Bread: think of the grain planted, grown in all weathers, cut, winnowed, ground in a mill, needed, baked in great heat, broken.

See Jesus, see the five eternal, gracious and loving wounds of the Cross, THAT WE MIGHT BE RESURRECTED IN A NEW ETERNAL BODY.

WINE, OR AVAILABLE SUITABLE DRINK

Exodus 12:13 The blood will be a sign for you on the houses where you are; and when I see the blood, I will pass over.

Exodus 24:7 Then he took the Book of the Covenant and read it to the people. They responded, “We will do everything the LORD has said; we will obey.”

8 Moses then took the blood, sprinkled it on the people and said, “This is the blood of the covenant that the LORD has made with you in accordance with all these words.”

Leviticus 17:11 For the life of a creature is in the blood, and I have given it to you to make atonement for yourselves on the altar; it is the blood that makes atonement for one’s life.

[The word “Covenant” appears 297 times in the NIV Bible, and relates to the blood in the New Testament.]

Leviticus 26:25 And I will bring the sword upon you to avenge the breaking of the covenant.

44 I will not reject them or abhor them so as to destroy them completely, breaking my covenant with them. I am the LORD their God.

Numbers 10:33 The ark of the covenant of the LORD went before them….

Numbers 18:19  It is an everlasting covenant of salt before the LORD for both you and your offspring.”

Numbers 25:12 Therefore tell him I am making my covenant of peace with him.

Deuteronomy 7:9 He is the faithful God, keeping his covenant of love.

[9:11 The LORD gave me the two stone tablets, the tablets of the covenant.

Matthew 26:28 This is my blood of the (new) covenant, which is poured out for many for the forgiveness of sins.

Mark 14:23 Then he took the cup, gave thanks and offered it to them, and they all drank from it.   24This is my blood of the covenant, which is poured out for many,” he said to them.

John 6:53 Jesus said to them, “I tell you the truth, unless you eat the flesh of the Son of Man and drink his blood, you have no life in you.

54 Whoever eats my flesh and drinks my blood has eternal life, and I will raise him up at the last day.

55 For my flesh is real food and my blood is real drink.

56 Whoever eats my flesh and drinks my blood remains in me, and I in him.

Acts 20:28 Be shepherds of the church of God, which he bought with his own blood.

Romans 5:1 Therefore, since we have been justified through faith, we have peace with God through our Lord Jesus Christ,

2 through whom we have gained access by faith into this grace in which we now stand. And we rejoice in the hope of the glory of God.

3 Not only so, but we also rejoice in our sufferings, because we know that suffering produces perseverance;

4 perseverance, character; and character, hope.

Romans 5:6 You see, at just the right time, when we were still powerless, Christ died for the ungodly.

8 But God demonstrates his own love for us in this: While we were still sinners, Christ died for us.

9 Since we have now been justified by his blood, how much more shall we be saved from God’s wrath through him!

10 For if, when we were God’s enemies, we were reconciled to him through the death of his Son, how much more, having been reconciled, shall we be saved through his life!

11 Not only is this so, but we also rejoice in God through our Lord Jesus Christ, through whom we have now received reconciliation.

1 Corinthians 6:11 And that is what some of you were. But you were washed, you were sanctified, you were justified in the name of the Lord Jesus Christ and by the Spirit of our God.

Hebrews 10:29 How much more severely do you think a man deserves to be punished who has trampled the Son of God under foot, who has treated as an unholy thing the blood of the covenant that sanctified him, and who has insulted the Spirit of grace?

1 Corinthians 6:20 you were bought at a price

1 Corinthians 10:16 Is not the cup of thanksgiving for which we give thanks a participation in the blood of Christ?

Ephesians 1:7 In him we have redemption through his blood, the forgiveness of sins, in accordance with the riches of God’s grace

Colossians 1:14 (Through the blood of Christ,) we have redemption, the forgiveness of sins.

Ephesians 2:13 But now in Christ Jesus you who once were far away have been brought near through the blood of Christ.

Hebrews 9:12 He did not enter by means of the blood of goats and calves; but he entered the Most Holy Place once for all by his own blood, having obtained eternal redemption.

Hebrews 9:22 In fact, the law requires that nearly everything be cleansed with blood, and without the shedding of blood there is no forgiveness.

Hebrews 10:19 Therefore, brothers, since we have confidence to enter the Most Holy Place by the blood of Jesus,

1 John 5:6 This is the one who came by water and blood—Jesus Christ. He did not come by water only, but by water and blood. And it is the Spirit who testifies, because the Spirit is the truth.

7 For there are three that testify:

8 the Spirit, the water and the blood; and the three are in agreement.

Revelation 1:5 and from Jesus Christ, who is the faithful witness, the firstborn from the dead, and the ruler of the kings of the earth.

To him who loves us and has freed us from our sins by his blood,

Revelation 5:9 And they sang a new song:

“You are worthy to take the scroll

and to open its seals,

because you were slain,

and with your blood you purchased men for God

from every tribe and language and people and nation.

Revelation 12:11 They overcame him (Satan)

by the blood of the Lamb

and by the word of their testimony;

they did not love their lives so much

as to shrink from death.

Revelation 7:13 Then one of the elders asked me, “These in white robes—who are they, and where did they come from?”

14 I answered, “Sir, you know.”

And he said, “These are they who have come out of the great tribulation; they have washed their robes and made them white in the blood of the Lamb.

Revelation 22:14 “Blessed are those who wash their robes, that they may have the right to the tree of life and may go through the gates into the city.

Revelation 19:13 He is dressed in a robe dipped in blood, and his name is the Word of God.

 

THE LAST SUPPER – KEY SCRIPTURES OF THE INSTITUTION

MARK 14

12 On the first day of the Feast of Unleavened Bread, when it was customary to sacrifice the Passover lamb, Jesus’ disciples asked him, “Where do you want us to go and make preparations for you to eat the Passover?”

13 So he sent two of his disciples, telling them, “Go into the city, and a man carrying a jar of water will meet you. Follow him.

14 Say to the owner of the house he enters, ‘The Teacher asks: Where is my guest room, where I may eat the Passover with my disciples?’

15 He will show you a large upper room, furnished and ready. Make preparations for us there.”

16 The disciples left, went into the city and found things just as Jesus had told them. So they prepared the Passover.

17 When evening came, Jesus arrived with the Twelve.

18 While they were reclining at the table eating, he said, “I tell you the truth, one of you will betray me—one who is eating with me.”

19 They were saddened, and one by one they said to him, “Surely not I?”

20 “It is one of the Twelve,” he replied, “one who dips bread into the bowl with me.

21 The Son of Man will go just as it is written about him. But woe to that man who betrays the Son of Man! It would be better for him if he had not been born.”

22 While they were eating, Jesus took bread, gave thanks and broke it, and gave it to his disciples, saying, “Take it; this is my body.”

23 Then he took the cup, gave thanks and offered it to them, and they all drank from it.

24 “This is my blood of the covenant, which is poured out for many,” he said to them.

25 “I tell you the truth, I will not drink again of the fruit of the vine until that day when I drink it anew in the kingdom of God.”

26 When they had sung a hymn, they went out to the Mount of Olives.

MATTHEW 20

17 On the first day of the Feast of Unleavened Bread, the disciples came to Jesus and asked, “Where do you want us to make preparations for you to eat the Passover?”

18 He replied, “Go into the city to a certain man and tell him, ‘The Teacher says: My appointed time is near. I am going to celebrate the Passover with my disciples at your house.’ ”

19 So the disciples did as Jesus had directed them and prepared the Passover.

20 When evening came, Jesus was reclining at the table with the Twelve.26:21 And while they were eating, he said, 21“I tell you the truth, one of you will betray me.”

22 They were very sad and began to say to him one after the other, “Surely not I, Lord?”

23 Jesus replied, “The one who has dipped his hand into the bowl with me will betray me.

24 The Son of Man will go just as it is written about him. But woe to that man who betrays the Son of Man! It would be better for him if he had not been born.”

25 Then Judas, the one who would betray him, said, “Surely not I, Rabbi?”

Jesus answered, “Yes, it is you.”

26 While they were eating, Jesus took bread, gave thanks and broke it, and gave it to his disciples, saying, “Take and eat; this is my body.”

27 Then he took the cup, gave thanks and offered it to them, saying, “Drink from it, all of you.

28 This is my blood of the covenant, which is poured out for many for the forgiveness of sins.

29 I tell you, I will not drink of this fruit of the vine from now on until that day when I drink it anew with you in my Father’s kingdom.”

30 When they had sung a hymn, they went out to the Mount of Olives.

LUKE 22

7 Then came the day of Unleavened Bread on which the Passover lamb had to be sacrificed.

8 Jesus sent Peter and John, saying, “Go and make preparations for us to eat the Passover.”

9 “Where do you want us to prepare for it?” they asked.

10 He replied, “As you enter the city, a man carrying a jar of water will meet you. Follow him to the house that he enters,

11 and say to the owner of the house, ‘The Teacher asks: Where is the guest room, where I may eat the Passover with my disciples?’

12 He will show you a large upper room, all furnished. Make preparations there.”

13 They left and found things just as Jesus had told them. So they prepared the Passover.

14 When the hour came, Jesus and his apostles reclined at the table.

15 And he said to them, “I have eagerly desired to eat this Passover with you before I suffer.

22:16 For I tell you, I will not eat it again until it finds fulfillment in the kingdom of God.”

17 After taking the cup, he gave thanks and said, “Take this and divide it among you.

18 For I tell you I will not drink again of the fruit of the vine until the kingdom of God comes.”

19 And he took bread, gave thanks and broke it, and gave it to them, saying, “This is my body given for you; do this in remembrance of me.”

20 In the same way, after the supper he took the cup, saying, “This cup is the new covenant in my blood, which is poured out for you.

21 But the hand of him who is going to betray me is with mine on the table.

22 The Son of Man will go as it has been decreed, but woe to that man who betrays him.”

1 CORINTHIANS 11

17 In the following directives I have no praise for you, for your meetings do more harm than good.

18 In the first place, I hear that when you come together as a church, there are divisions among you, and to some extent I believe it.

19 No doubt there have to be differences among you to show which of you have God’s approval.

20 When you come together, it is not the Lord’s Supper you eat,

21 for as you eat, each of you goes ahead without waiting for anybody else. One remains hungry, another gets drunk.

22 Don’t you have homes to eat and drink in? Or do you despise the church of God and humiliate those who have nothing? What shall I say to you? Shall I praise you for this? Certainly not!

23 For I received from the Lord what I also passed on to you: The Lord Jesus, on the night he was betrayed, took bread,

24 and when he had given thanks, he broke it and said, “This is my body, which is for you; do this in remembrance of me.”

25 In the same way, after supper he took the cup, saying, “This cup is the new covenant in my blood; do this, whenever you drink it, in remembrance of me.”

26 For whenever you eat this bread and drink this cup, you proclaim the Lord’s death until he comes.

27 Therefore, whoever eats the bread or drinks the cup of the Lord in an unworthy manner will be guilty of sinning against the body and blood of the Lord.

28 A man ought to examine himself before he eats of the bread and drinks of the cup.

29 For anyone who eats and drinks without recognizing the body of the Lord eats and drinks judgment on himself.

30 That is why many among you are weak and sick, and a number of you have fallen asleep.

31 But if we judged ourselves, we would not come under judgment.

32 When we are judged by the Lord, we are being disciplined so that we will not be condemned with the world.

33 So then, my brothers, when you come together to eat, wait for each other.

34 If anyone is hungry, he should eat at home, so that when you meet together it may not result in judgment.

And when I come I will give further directions.

 

 

ENDNOTES

WINE: think of the planting of the vine, growth in all weathers, pruned and tended, harvested in season, trampled (a picture of Judgment), poured out, shared.

We are linked over, two thousand years, with the first apostles in the Upper Room, and with the members of the worldwide Church, today.

A question was asked of theological students: if a layperson were shipwrecked on a desert island, as does happen, would it be right for them to take Communion?  What do you think?  Their answer was “Yes”.

It is like receiving a hug and a kiss from Jesus.  Spending time with Him alone.  This may also be an occasion of revelation, and of dedication to taking up the cross – being ready to die, today, for our saviour.

There are Churches that do not require an Ordained Minister to officiate at The Lord’s Table – Baptist, Independent, Christian Brethren (where in the Morning Meeting, the whole of the first hour, or so, may be devoted to hymns, readings and meditations on the Bread and the Wine), etc.

Quite a number of Believers read the Institution in the Gospels, as implying that every meal, which resembles Bread and a Drink, should become a Thanksgiving and Remembrance – indeed this is the only way to read the Institution.  (Have in mind that in some cultures and environments, wine and bread may have to be substituted by other food and drinks – a desert tribe, or a prison cell.)  Some find this personal Eucharist more engaging than a protracted, and broken liturgy; the occasion may happen four or five times in a day.  The high liturgical and sacramental view, which requires only ordained clergy to administer, probably robs many Christians of this rich and vital experience.  One person said it was like holding one end of a piece of string, knowing that Jesus held the other end!  There are those who always receive the “elements” as by the hand of Christ.  Others remember the Commandment to love God with: Strength, Mind, Heart, and Spirit.  Jesus shows physical love towards us in His Passion; Mind and Heart love in His life and teaching; love in His Spirit, in the giving of life blood – put a hand on your body, somewhere, when bringing to mind the sacrifice of Christ’s body.

Jesus’s body would have had the most amazing scent costing several thousand GBP/dollars, following the anointing by Mary at Bethany.

We hold the symbol of his sacrifice, and eat in the fellowship of our High Priest, Father God, Holy Spirit, and the Church.  There could be much to gain from considering the rituals of the Temple and Tabernacle: the Table of Shewbread laid out in the Presence of God; not any virtue of the bread, and we, the priests all Believers, enter into that Presence in the Eucharist.  The term “Memorial” is used, as in the Last Supper; and there is Bread and Wine.  We have the Wave Offering – before Yahweh the Father, Yahweh the Son and Yahweh the Holy Spirit, the angelic beings, and any humans who see us; and the eating of elements by the Levitical Priests and the participants. (Exodus 25:30; Leviticus 24:5-9)  At the end, we remember that the Ceremony is only until Jesus’s Return – listen and look: can you hear the Trumpet Call, the Voice of the Archangel, and what is the current state of the clouds.

The Lord Jesus the Messiah went from: the Tomb to the Throne, Sheol to the Father’s Side, Paradise to the Presence of the Father, and Grave to Glory.  There was a tripartite separation for the Lord: the spirit to the Father, soul to Paradise, and the body to the tomb; it has been for God’s people in the past – will be the same for us, if He is our personal Saviour from sin and judgment.  For Jesus there was also the reverse tripartite – joining again at the Resurrection; as it will be for His people at the First Resurrection.

A joke: Jesus jumped the queue; but then He had to as Lord of all creation.

We have the Passover – protection from the wrath of God, and the Day of Atonement.  The word “Atonement” was an invention of William Tyndale, in his amazing work of translating the Bible into the English language – which he virtually created, before Shakespeare. Its meaning, obviously, is “at-one-ment”.  Yom Kippur means the Day of Atonement, in the Jewish calendar of Festivals.  Originally, Kippur refers to COVERING, of sins.

Not all liturgies are helpful.  We often acknowledge our unity with ALL other Believers.

Imagine the Lord Jesus standing at your side; what would you say to Him?

It is said that the eminent Pentecostal, Smith Wigglesworth took Communion daily; I presume this was privately in his home, having known a church leader who often visited him.

Mark Oakes, UK Director of Christ for all Nations noted:

In coming to the Lord’s Table, Paul (the apostle) describes how we need to take a fourfold look.

We look back – ‘you proclaim the Lord’s death’. 1 Corinthians 11:26

We look within – ‘a man ought to examine himself before he eats of the bread and drinks of the cup.’ 1 Corinthians 11:28

We look around – ‘because there is one loaf, we, who are many, are one body, for we all partake of one loaf.’ 1 Corinthians 10:17

We look ahead – ‘until He comes.’ 1 Corinthians 11:26

A Statistics Examination A-level question asked for proof that a cup taken today could contain at least one molecule of a cup drunk from two thousand, or more, years ago.

In taking the Bread and Wine, it is good to talk to the Saviour about his bodily suffering and his giving of His Life Blood.

We may review the Blessings again: Atonement, Acquitted, called to address God as Abba (Papa, Dad), Absolved, Adopted, Agape Love is shown to us, Eternal Life, New Birth, we enter the Joy of our Lord.

If a human had given their life to rescue and save us – that would be awesome.

If an angel had given himself for us – that would be incredible.

But it was God Himself who took humanity and gave Himself to save us for Eternity – that is beyond comprehension.  May we have grace to give our lives for Him: to SERVE, SUFFER, SACRIFICE

The Judge of all Creation suffered at the hands of corrupt and foolish Judges, and suffered injustice.

From the Father, the Son and the Holy Spirit, we receive a tsunami of love.  It is well to remember the Father and the Holy Spirit, along with the Son, when taking Communion.

God’s love within us shows a similar love to the Godhead, and to His people.

 

Only in our resurrection bodies and minds, will we be able to comprehend Jesus’s awesome Passion.

Jesus’s Spirit, Soul, and Body were separated at death: to the Father, to Paradise, and to the Tomb

We are the Bride of Christ, waiting for the Wedding.

Imagine you are receiving from the Lord Himself, in the Upper Room.

He went to Hell for us: meaning the place of the Dead – not Gehenna.  His suffering finished on the Cross, where He cried, “It is finished!”

The Creator of the Cosmos became human, in order to die a cruel death for our sins – to save us. Here also is the measure of His love for us.

How do you imagine the Lord Jesus?  In the Upper Room handing you the Bread and the Cup.  He would not be newly showered, or wearing pristine clothes, as you might be.  His clothes and His body would normally be far from fresh, although the strong scent of His anointing would be very much present – preparing Him for His death.  Quite often Jesus was sleeping rough. ….

In Glory, now, however, His eyes are like blazing fire and whose feet are like burnished bronze – firmly perpetuating the wounds of the Lamb as it had been slain.  His feet were like bronze glowing in a furnace, and His voice was like the sound of rushing waters.  In His right hand He held seven stars, and out of His mouth came a sharp double-edged sword. His face was like the sun shining in all its brilliance.

1
Give me a sight, O Saviour,
Of Thy wondrous love to me,
Of the love that brought Thee down to earth,
To die on Calvary.
Oh, make me understand it,
Help me to take it in,
What it meant to Thee, the Holy One,
To bear away my sin.
2
Was it the nails, O Saviour,
That bound Thee to the tree?
Nay, ’twas Thine everlasting love,
Thy love for me, for me.
3
Oh, wonder of all wonders,
That through Thy death for me,
My open sins, my secret sins,
Can all forgiven be.
4
Then melt my heart, O Saviour,
Bend me, yea, break me down,
Until I own Thee Conqueror,
And Lord and Sovereign crown. Katherine Agnes May Kelly, (1869-1942) NYLC

WORSHIP!

*Some of the Blogs are rather long.   It is possible to go through EDIT, to SELECT ALL, EDIT again: COPY; and then create your own WORD/MY DOCUMENTS file, PASTE, and SAVE: so you can read the longer items at leisure.  Please tell others how to reach my Blogs.

, , , ,

Thank you – help me to reach more folk – Leave a Reply

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.